John Glenn High Athletic Hall of Fame to add three


NEW CONCORD -- Three more individuals will join the John Glenn High Athletic Hall of Fame on Friday prior to the Muskies' homecoming game against Muskingum Valley League foe Morgan.

Jimmy Kornokovich, Randy Neff and Bain Goff are the latest inductees into the "Hall" at John Glenn.

Kornokovich (Class of 1997) was an honor student and a two-sport athlete. He was a three-year letterman in football and a two-year letterman in baseball. In football, Kornokovich was a two-way lineman and was selected all-MVL, all-Eastern District and all-Ohio as a defensive lineman in 1995. In 1996, he served as a team captain and was selected all-MVL and the Offensive Lineman of the Year, all-Eastern District and all-Ohio.

After leaving John Glenn, he continue his academic and athletic careers at Muskingum College where he was a four-year letterman, team captain and was selected to the all-OAC, all-District and Division III All-American teams as an offensvie lineman. He was academic all-OAC, all-District and Division III All-American. In 2000, he was one of 40 Division III players and the first Muskingum player to be selected to represent the United States in the Aztec Bowl, the annual Division III all-star game played in Mexico.

Neff (Class of 1980) was a four-year varsity football standout at John Glenn. He was a defensive end, tailback and punter for the Muskies. As a member of the 1978-78 elite "Crunch Bunch", a defense which held opponents to 47 points for the season, Neff is remember for delivering bone-crushing blows to his opponents. In 1980, he was named first team all-MVL on both offense and defense, was the all-Eastern District Defensive Lineman of the Year and first team all-Ohio. As a senior he had 78 solo tackles, 24 assists and averaged 36 yards per punt. he was also a two-year letterman in baseball and track and holds the school's high jump record at 6-4.

After graduating from John Glenn, he continue his football career at West Liberty State College as a punter and outside linebacker.

Goff (Class of 1969) has been a dedicated supporter of John Glenn athletics. As an active member of the Boys' Basketball Boosters in the 1980s, he heled to raise funds for the program and assisted by chaperonng on road trips. He also hosted many softball tournaments at the high school during these years. Goff was instrumental in the development of the girls' fastpitch softball program at JGHS, serving not only as a coach but also as a sponsor of th esummer travel team which qualified for many national tournaments. He coached a winter league team that played in Akron at the Spano Dome. As an active member of the Softball/Baseball Boosters, Goff devoted countless hours to upgrading the facilities withi new fences, concession stands, indoor batting cages and tarps for the field. His dedication to John Glenn athletics has helped create one of the best softball/baseball facilities in the MVL.

Guests at the pre-game event will include previously inducted HOF members, the selection committee, school administration, Board of Education members, senior athletes and coaches.

Charter members (elected in 1984) were Don "Spike" Stockum, Gaylord "Shorty" Wymer, Ken Johnson, Ellis Duitch, Delmar "Bus" Anderson, Wade Mabry and Walter "Pinky" Wilson.

Other HOF members include: 1985 - Ray Reavley, Jay Addy, Dean "Dinger" Taylor, Phil Allen; 1986 - Nancy Chess Felde, Charles "Pud" Kruzan, Kim Stanbery, Irwin "Irv" Duff; 1987 - Dick Conley, Richard Moon, Charles Bay, Dr. Walter Chess; 1988 - Bill Cunningham, George Hanes, Robert "Buggy" Cox, Larry Miller; 1989 - Andrea Garner, Harry "Hap" Aitken, Al Baisler; 1990 - James "Buck" Ballantine, Jay Burson, Ron Colby, Ralph "Beanie" Patton; 1991 - David Adams, John Hadden, Ron Vessels; 1992 - Jim Allen, Troy Dawson, Jana Montague; 1993 - Pegge Bradley, Ton Dannemann, Bill Hammer; 1994 - Andy Herron, Arndt Layman, Tim Taylor, Tom Taylor, Jane Wells; 1995 - Brian Farrar, Nancy Hutcheson, Jim Messerschmidt; 1996 - Don McKendry, Bill Nicholson, Harold Sawyer; 1997 - Harry Talbert; 1998 - Tracy Herron, Fred Messerschmidt, Jerry Ramsey; 1999 - Mark Johnson, Randall Larrick, Amy (Aitken) Tooms; 2000 - Sonie Burson, Lisa Greegor, Randy Monterotti; 2001 - Roger Bates, Zach Pauley; 2002 - Nathaniel Morrow, Lori Shields Brown; 2003 - Vernon Haught, Jamie Emerson; 2004 - Teri Flanagan Fitch, Tom Williams; 2005 - Jack Bain, Sam Bates; 2006 - Todd Biegler, Garland Lewis; 2007 - Paul Christopher, Mike Crawford, Tammy Requardt Whitehair, John Wells; 2008 - Laura Morrow, Jeff Brock, Shaun McVicker.

Want to leave your comments?

Sign in or Register to comment.